Don’t Change, Reframe

Mark Thompson
2 min readApr 5, 2024

A simple reframe can make all the difference.

Photo by pine watt on Unsplash

Overnight, I had three people ask me the same question.

“How can I sell an online course as I don’t have an audience?”

That question is actually the wrong question and by reframing it you’ll get a simple answer.

“Will Creating An Online Course Help Me Build An Audience?”

The answer to that is YES, ABSOLUTELY!

From Zero To Six Figures

Up to around 2015 I was focused on building and teaching people how to build and monetize blogs.

I wanted to change to selling Email Marketing related courses and training but I didn’t really have much of an audience that was interested in Email Marketing.

I could have just left it and continued doing what I knew was working.

I mean who wants to build a new audience….But I didn’t.

What I did was create a free course about setting up your first Email Service Provider (it was Activecampaign at the time.)

That not only built an audience interested in knowing about email marketing but lacking the tech knowledge but also generated over $55,000 in affiliate commissions, which I still receive today.

--

--

Mark Thompson

Veteran Content Marketer, Keeping it Simple and Sharing What Works in my regular newsletter: https://substack.com/@simpleisprofit