Medium & Substack — The Perfect Combination?

Mark Thompson
3 min readJul 19, 2024

I Tried Substack For The First Time… It Might Be The Perfect Complimentary Tool For Medium

Created On Canva by ME!

Non-Members Can Read This For Free Here

It’s no secret that I love creating content here on Medium; it’s firmly a part of my daily routine as much as coffee every morning and Churros on Tuesday, Friday and Sunday.

I learned about Substack a few years ago, and all the talk was that it was a good newsletter tool. I already used convertkit so I wasn’t interested.

I was wrong, it’s not just a newsletter tool.

In fact, I’d go as far as to say it’s a newsletter tool for people who don’t want to do newsletters.

Let me explain.

You write a post exactly as you do here; there is very little difference.

Once you press publish, you are finished. Substack then takes over and “newsletterfies” your post.

It emails it out and makes sure it gets delivered. It shows it to people who might be interested in what you write about, so it helps you get subscribers.

It’s a lot like your posts here that get sent to people who ask for them to be sent via email. Out of site out of mind.

--

--

Mark Thompson

Veteran Content Marketer, Keeping it Simple and Sharing What Works in my regular newsletter: https://substack.com/@simpleisprofit